Tags

, , , ,

Phew! It’s a scorcher AGAIN! I’m loving this weather & blogging from the garden is the BEST thing about self-employment at the moment!

Today, I’m sharing my day out at the amazing War & Peace Revival which I went to last week with my lovely husband. I have to admit, it wasn’t exactly my idea to head over to the largest military show in Europe, but being married to an army surplus dealer left me with little choice! Luckily, this year, the organisers had decided to add a HUGE vintage section and, boy, did they do well!

SAM_7610

After a couple of hours mooching around the military zone, it was payback time and the husband returned the favour by following me around all the fabulous vintage stalls on display! Apart from the fact that I had totally forgotten to take any suncream with us and ended up with lobster arms by the end of the day certainly didn’t spoilt it!

SAM_7608

Despite the selection of vintage clothing being one of the biggest I’ve ever seen, I was very well restrained and bought a beautiful 70s skirt from Hey Day Vintage as well as a particularly cool cocktail maker!

After walking around in the searing heat for a few hours, it was definitely time to head the Victory tent to grab a shandy & enjoy the entertainment! The Jive Aces put on a terrific show and it was lovely to see all the visiting kids learning the Charleston in the dance tent!

SAM_7590

The model village was seriously impressive, with wartime cooking, farming & homefront demonstrations and the amazing Homefront bus! My absolutely favourite mock-up was this incredible exterior & interior of a French cafe, complete with vintage decor! Sadly, we missed out on meeting the cast of ‘Allo ‘Allo! Ha!

SAM_7554

 

Have a browse through my other pictures – we had such a great day, I would highly recommend you pop along next year!

 

